United Airlines: Dominating the Sky

United Airlines was established on April 6, 1926 in Boise, Idaho. Its original name was Varney Air Lines. Its airport lounge is called the Red Carpet Club and is a member of the Star Alliance. It offers flights to 216 destinations around the world, and its parent company is United Airlines Holdings. It is located in Chicago, Illinois.

Fleet size

United Airlines has 359 aircraft in operation. Of these, 97 are Airbus A320s and 96 are Boeing 757-200s. The American Airlines also owns 55 Airbus A319s and 35 Boeing 767-300ERs. There are 33 Boeing 777-200ER and 24 Boeing 747-400, and 19 Boeing 777-200.


United Airlines operates six major hubs: Chicago's O'Hare International Airport, San Francisco Airport, Washington Dulles Airport, Los Angeles Airport, Denver Airport and Tokyo's Narita International Airport.

United Airlines hopes to add some airports to its hub list in the future. They may be mentioned as follows:

Newark Liberty International Airport

Cleveland Hopkins International Airport

George Bush Intercontinental Airport

Antonio B. Winpart International Airport


United Airlines offers flights to Accra and Lagos, Africa. In the Caribbean, boarding is available from cities such as Oranjestad, Montego Bay, Grand Cayman, San Juan and Punta Cana. In Central and North America, it flies to Liberia, Cancun and Calgary, with the exception of other destinations in the United States.

In the southern United States, this American airline offers flights to Buenos Aires, Lima and Rio de Janeiro. There are major airports in Asia, Beijing, Taipei, Osaka, Singapore and Seoul. United's most important European destinations are Brussels, Rome, Paris, Amsterdam and Frankfurt. Melbourne and Guam are the main locations in the Oceania Belt.

Frequent flyer program

Mileage Plus is a frequent flyer program for United Airlines. The main benefit of the program is that recipients will receive endless miles. However, for this method to work, flyers must be redeemed or earn travel miles every 18 months.

The organization also offers elite-level membership. This offers more benefits than standard membership. This feature started in 2010 and is only available to members with Premier, 1K and Premier Executive Membership status.

These members also get unlimited upgrades for domestic flights. However, these facilities are only provided if there is sufficient space on the flight.

Code sharing agreement

United Airlines has reached code-sharing agreements with several airlines:

El Lingus

Hawaiian Airlines


Island Air


Jet Airways

Ethiopian Airlines

Qatar Airways

Great Lakes Air

TACA Airlines

Gulfstream International